The Parish of St John The Divine, Acklington

Minutes of the Annual Parochial Church Meeting of St John The Divine, Acklington held on Sunday 18th March 2018

01. Present:
John Davison, June Davison, Barbara Lamb, Joan Davison, Bill Rowntree, Vera Taylor, Mary Guy, Barbara Cock, Flora Steele, Derek Steele, Shirley Rowntree, Peter Wright, Myra Johnson and Bill Johnson.

02. Opening Prayer:
John led the prayer.

03. Apologies:
Revd June Barras, Moira Peden and Audrey Lamb

04. Vestry Meeting:
William Rowntree and Peter Wright were happy to continue in their role as church warden and had completed the necessary forms.
Many thanks offered to Bill and Peter for their time and commitment to the church since the last APCM.

05. Minutes of the Annual Parochial Church Meeting 2017
The 2017 minutes were accepted the minutes as a true record. Signed by John Davison.

06. Matters arising:

07. Presentation of the Accounts-
Accounts had previously been audited, presented to and accepted by the PCC and circulated to the congregation. There were no questions for Joan but she was keen to explain why we were over £1,000 down.
• Heating had nearly doubled and lighting up by £100
• Insurance is now paid monthly rather than in five instalments
• Gutter repairs were £1600
• Quinquennial report cost £606
• We have purchased enough candles for the next year
• Mike and Fran’s leaving cost £255
• We hadn’t received anything for the Parish Council at the time of auditing
• Special mention to go to Roger Styring for auditing accounts and John Davison for being our organist, neither of whom accept any payment for their services.  Also special mention to Bill Rowntree for donating £616 paper round money.

08. The Reports-
(a) a report on changes in the church electoral roll since the last APCM- Flora Steele has given the responsibility to Barbara Lamb. There are now 62 on roll.
(b) a report on the proceedings of the PCC and the activities of the
parish generally-
as we have no vicar John Davison gave a report which is available on file.
(c) a report on the numbers giving gift aid and covenants- 23 gift aid and 4 planned giving.
(d) a report by churchwardens upon the fabric, goods and ornaments of the church-
a copy was circulated with minutes and is available on file.
(e) a report on the proceedings of the Deanery Synod- as Moira Peden is in hospital at the moment there wasn’t a report but the PCC have had feedback during the year
(f) a report from the Safeguarding Officer- there wasn’t an annual report but no incidents have been recorded to the PCC during the year.

09. The Elections-
Deanery Synod Representatives (2), Moira Peden is willing to continue in the roll and Peter Wright has agreed to be the second member.
PCC members (8) elected- Joan Davison, John Davison, June Davison, Barbara Lamb, Audrey Lamb, Barbara Cock, Val Sharp and Shirley Rowntree.
Sides Persons election would be completed at the next PCC meeting
Independent Examiner of Accounts- this appointment would be finalised at the next PCC meeting but Roger Styring had agreed to continue in the position.

10. Any other business-
The next PCC would be held in church at 1.30pm on Wednesday 21st March

11. Closing Prayers-
John led closing prayers and the Annual Parochial Church Meeting ended at 12.20 pm.